Paella and Cascade cliffs tempranillo

Ever since traveling in Spain a few years ago, I have enjoyed Spanish and mediterranean food.  I had a bottle of tempranillo from Cascade Cliffs (see prior Cascade Cliffs post) so it was the perfect opportunity to make paella for the first time!

Cascade Cliffs tempranillo

This was my first time making paella.  I’ve been enjoying the simplicity of Jamie Oliver’s recipes so I thought I’d give it a try.  Link to Jamie Oliver’s paella recipe.

It took 1 hour total including prep.

I’m not big on seafood in my paella so I chose to include only the shrimp, chorizo, and chicken.

The closest I could find for chorizo was a Portuguese style sausage.

chorizo

I used a thin, delicate style of pancetta.

pancetta

I adjusted the recipe by cutting the chicken into smaller pieces.

The rice was authentic paella rice which was a great find from Barbur Foods!

paella rice

The extra virgin olive oil is from Oregon Olive Mill/Durant Vineyard/Red Ridge Farm and is from arbequina grapes from Spain.

oregon olive mill

It was fun to watch the process from liquid to solids.

paella liquid

paella solid

chicken

paella

The chicken seemed dryer than I would have preferred so I’ll adjust that the next time I make it!

Leave a comment