Portland Rose Garden

Portland Rose Garden

I haven’t been scheduling down time for many years, so today I stopped at the Rose Garden to “smell the roses.” 🙂  It was even more extensive and amazing than I’d imagined-even in the early fall!  I’m not too much of a rose fan so I didn’t expect to be as amazed with the Rose Garden as with the neighboring Japanese Garden.

It was an amazing view of the city descending down into the Rose Garden.

view

A statue in the garden

statue

There were entire rows of roses of the same color.

rose

It was fun to catch this bee pollinating this rose.

rose.

This rose was such a vibrant color!  I can see it as a photograph or as a watercolor painting.

rose

I liked the pattern in the very inner part of this rose.

rose

Another vibrantly colored rose.

rose

I enjoyed this view of a whole section of roses and rose buds with the fir trees as a backdrop.

rose

Brilliant colors

rose

This rose was called “Betty Boop” in honor of my grandmother who loved Betty Boop. 🙂

rose

I can see this rose as a watercolor painting.

rose

Another bright colored rose.

rose

I enjoyed the red, peach, and pink variegated colors on this rose.

rose

I liked the drops of darker color on this light pink rose.  It would make a nice watercolor painting as well.

rose

A whole section of vivid red roses.

rose

The end of the stroll through the garden looking down at the rows of rose bushes.

view

Leave a Reply

